One of my team member left the company and some of the project files were checked out by him. Other team members were not able to checkout those files to work on. TFS Administrator console also does not provide any workaround this. I found “tf” command line utility to e useful bhere. Following command can be used to delete the user’s workspace but any changes in the file after that checkout is lost. TFS version of the file will be unaffected after deleting a TFS workspace.
tf workspace /delete WorkSpaceName;UserName